Last week, Nile Rodgers announced Jay Z as the first rapper chosen into the Songwriters Hall of Fame on “CBS This Morning.” To become eligible for induction, a songwriter must a songwriting career of at least 20 years. Jay Z took well to his new induction.

“By the way, this is a win for US. I remember when rap was said to be a fad. We are now alongside some of the greatest writers in history,” said Jay Z on Twitter.

Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Peter Certera of Chicago, Max Martin, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm and James Pankow are also a part of the 2017 class of inductees. In addition to Berry Gordy, who postponed his induction from last year.

Those artists nominated for this year’s class but were not chosen were David Gates, Kool & the

Gang, Sly Stone, George Michael, Madonna, Bryan Adams, Jeff Lynne and Gloria Estefan.

On June 15, the induction ceremony will take place in New York.

Comments Welcome